1. Home › 
  2. › 
  3. › 
  4. Am I subject to the examination obligation in banking intermediation?

Am I subject to the examination obligation in banking intermediation?

Access to the profession

The financial world is evolving every day. Today, the emphasis is more than ever on high value-added financial advice for the customer. Know-how lies at the heart of the trust that is central to your customer relationships. This trust has its origins in the regulated exercise of the profession, the monitoring and supervision of which is carried out by the FSMA. This means that you must be registered as an intermediary vis-à-vis the FSMA.

FSMA recognition

The Law of 22 March 2006 on intermediation in banking and investment services and the distribution of financial instruments introduced a legal status for so-called ‘intermediaries in banking and investment services’. This legislation was laid down by the FSMA. You can find it in French or Dutch on our website 

To obtain your registration as an ‘intermediary’, you must satisfy a number of legal conditions which, among other things, guarantee the required professional knowledge. The professional knowledge is acquired by passing an exam. With the banking intermediation exam, Febelfin Academy, as an examination provider recognised by the FSMA, offers you the opportunity to obtain the required professional knowledge.

Required theoretical knowledge:

Certificate of Higher Secondary Education + passing a specialised examination in banking and investment (Banking Intermediation/Willems Law), recognised by the FSMA.

You are required to have passed the exam in banking intermediation if you are active as:

You must achieve a minimum of 60% for each individual exam. Upon successful completion of your exam, you receive a certificate recognised by the FSMA. You can then add the certificate when submitting your FSMA registration file.

You have an exemption for the exam in bank intermediation in the following cases:

  1. you have a Master’s degree (or equivalent degree from before 2005);
  2. you have a Bachelor’s degree (or equivalent degree from before 2005) that includes at least 11 study points (or an equivalent percentage) relating to technical banking aspects. Please note: there is no list of approved bachelor’s degrees; the FSMA approves on an individual basis.
  3. you have a foreign degree equivalent to 1 or 2.

Other questions in this category